Awards, Honors

emeritaReceiving Emerita Faculty award from Northwestern University President Morton Schapiro (l) and NU Provost Daniel Linzer in 2014.

2021: 1st Place, Gold Award, IPPY Award, Best Essay Book, Independent Publishers Association, Act Like You’re Having A Good Time.

2021: Best Nonfiction Book, Illinois Women’s Press Association, March 2021

2021: Honorable Mention, Nonfiction Book/Memoir, National Federation of Press Women May 2021

2020: Honorary Chair, Deborah’s Place Event, May 7, 2020

2020: Winner, Peter Lisagor Award, Chicago Headline Club Independent Blogs, April 2020

2019: Winner, Chicago Journalists Association, Blog Category, January 2020

2016: Winner, Memoir, Great Midwestern Book Festival

2016: Grand Prize Award Finalist, Short List, Eric Hoffer Book Awards

2016: Society of Midland Authors, Finalist, Memoir/Biography


Booklist Editors Choice of Best Books for 2015, Social Sciences category.

2015: Stand Tall With Courage Award, Sarah’s Inn


2015: Honorary Chair, Honoree, The Bubble Ball, Between Friends

2014: Assistant Professor Emerita, Northwestern University

2014: Judge, National Federation of Press Women, Nonfiction Book Contest

2013: Author of the Decade, DV Legal Empowerment Appeals Project, George Washington University Law School

2013, 2014: Judge, Best American Newspaper Writing

2009: National Federation of Press Women, First Place, Nonfiction book

2008: Helen Verba Lecture Series Speaker, Denver Press Club

2007: Best magazine column, Illinois Press Women’s Association

With Maudlyne Ihejirika at Chicago Journalists Awards 2020.

2007: Twenty Years/Twenty Heroes Award

2006: Between Friends, Chicago, Hero Award

2005: Donna Allen Award for Feminist Advocacy, Association for Educators in Journalism & Mass Communications

2004-2005: Searle Center Teaching Fellow

2003: State of Massachusetts “Step Up and Read” One-Book Program, I Closed My Eyes

2003: Best Faculty Member, Kappa Delta Sorority, March and June 2003

2003: Sarah’s Inn Visionary Award

2002: Chicago Women In Publishing, Excellence Award, Nonfiction Book

2000: International Women’s Peacepower Media Award, Nonfiction Book, Florida

2000: Bread and Roses Individual Courage Award in Publishing, Chicago

1999: Winner, Soul Award for Books, American Pen Women

1999: Finalist, Association for Women Journalists, Commentary Writing

1997: Finalist, Nonfiction Book Contest, National Writers Association

1997: First Place, National League of American Pen Women, Essay Contest

1996: First Place, Writer’s Digest 1996 Writing Competition, Personal Essay

1995: Finalist, Writer’s Digest 1995 Writing Competition, Personal Essay, 1995

1987: Best Newspaper Columnist, Dallas Psychological Association

1979: Most Outstanding Undergraduate Female Journalism Student, National Pen Women


1 Comment

  1. You are a great writer. I just bookmarked your site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *